you're reading...
Creative

Thanks to INM

I have never attended a powwow. I have never seen a round dance. The only drum I can play is a tambourine. And as far as ethnicity and culture is concerned, my parents have done a cluster frik job. BUT, Idle No More is motivating me to take a stand- to demand my roots. I am learning…and at the same time, standing with my brothers and sisters around the continent, jingling my santa-claus tambourine, telling my peeps- “hey man, you know whats up in Canada, RIGHT?”

Cincy

…and they’re like “no”, and then we chat….and chat…and someone scribbles “Idle No More” on their hand, and another says they’ll announce it at an AA meeting.

And I promise you, that tambourine makes me so proud because on it I drew the four directions to represent us ALL. And on my way home I stop by to see the geese- and throw some tobacco, but nah- they want my food, so I throw them some food and I’m feelin real good because I am connecting. I am connecting with my true mother, and healing. And it’s thanks to Idle No More.

Then when I get home and my mom starts yelling at me, and I get to thinking, “I should be Idle No More about being a good child to my mom”. So naturally the first thing I do is screw up worse and make her more mad. But then I think about it. And I turn back, crack a joke, clean up a room, and she’s so happy. Thanks to Idle No More.

So I’m sitting online trying to crack out a blog, wondering who da hell the Gauls were- cause they are my ancestors too- and then my dog starts asking me “FOOD” and “WATER” and “WALK”. So I take another bite of my chocolate santa and think “Aww shet, I need to be Idle No More and take care of stuff”, so I get my tushy up and walk my dog, and feed her, and she is so happy. Thanks to Idle No More.

Then I’m sitting around snacking on crap and chips, scratching my anemic head and I start thinkin “Dangit! I gotta be Idle No More and cook a decent gaddamn meal”. SO I gets my tushy back up and actually turn on the stove….and I eat something good and I am happy. Thanks to INM for real.

Then I sit here, surfing the facebook, and I start thinkin “AWW FRIK. It’s time for me to Idle-no-more my A-double-S to bed at a DECENT hour”. So then, I write this instead, and then will go to bed.

Photo: Cincinnati Idle No More (I am the one on the left holding the tambourine)

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Thanks to INM

  1. I am Inupiat from Alaska. I live in S Central Oregon and I am 100% for the Idle No More movement! I see it uniting tribal peoples and connecting us from all over the world so that we may expose the hidden evils effecting our planet and stop it. I think to be a member of the tribe that it doesn’t matter where you came from or what color your skin is, it is based on what is in your heart. Idle No More is about saving resources and stopping big corporations and big government from destroying what little pristine land, air and water we have left. Yes this started in Canada specifically, but these are issues that effect everyone, especially our children and grandchildren and on down the line. For the people that argue that its about the tribes getting more money, you’re wrong. For the people who argue that their grandparents suffered etc and they made their own way, you’re attitude is wrong. For people that say Chief Theresa Spence isn’t losing any weight, you’re wrong. A fast or hunger strike is not about weight loss, get a clue! Open your eyes folks! I am so thrilled that this IDNM movement was started by four women. We’ve been told the divine feminine energy was coming into her power on the planet and proof positive it did! This is bigger than the past and this is bigger than money…this is the great awakening. The awakening we have been waiting for – that is why I am Idle No More. Quiana – thank you for listening, Jackie

    Posted by Jackie Guiley | January 14, 2013, 10:35 PM

Leave a Reply

Bright Dreams Journal

Poetry for everyone.

Fictionspawn Monsters

Illustrated Short Stories

sos art cincinnati

Arts Vehicles for Peace and Justice and for a Change

Saying Sooth

Of Stories and Riddles

Tribal Voice

Ever wondered what life's like in a remote tribal community? What tribal people have to say about the world? Tribal Voice, a project by Survival International, brings the thoughts and experiences of some of the most diverse societies on earth direct to your screen in real time. We're kicking off the project with tribes in Brazil. The Guarani, whose land has been stolen and destroyed by plantations and ranches, are now sending regular updates about their lives, and their struggle to survive. It's time to listen.

Chiapas Support Committee

Home of the Compañero Manuel blog on zapatistas & mexico

Moontime Warrior

Fearless Philosophizing, Embodied Resistance (by Erica Violet Lee)

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

RED POWER MEDIA

Indigenous Issues and Resistance

Grassroots Communications

Birthing babies, social movements, and new world paradigms!

People History

Interesting, thoughtful, stuff

World4Justice : NOW! Lobby Forum.

Family Law and Child Welfare Reform.

Malinalli Media

A Native-led Media Organization

The Espresso Stalinist

Wake Up to the Smell of Class Struggle ☭

EcoPeace Middle East

EcoPeace Middle East is a unique organization that brings together Jordanian, Palestinian, and Israeli environmentalists. Our primary objective is the promotion of cooperative efforts to protect our shared environmental heritage

Sacred Fire: The People United Against Fracking

#Elsipogtog and Kent County, New Brunswick - SacredFireNB@gmail.com

Earth First! Newswire

Media from the Frontlines of Ecological Resistance.

Unsettling America

Decolonization in Theory & Practice

