you're reading...
Creative, Idle No more

Lessons that an ally learns

I RECOGNIZE

the founding fathers and mothers of Turtle Island, the role many indigenous nations had in the USA Independence with their council, and the role they had in many good policies, such as public education, preservation of ecosystems, and women’s and queer rights.

I HONOUR

their sacrifice to ensure a free life for the next generation, even whilst each nation was systematically wronged, massacred, and subject to genocide. I honour the descendants and survivors, members of sovereign nations- whether federally recognized or not. I stand beside them in their struggle to exist, and their right to protect what is sacred.

I SHARE

this spirit of respect with my non-native friends and neighbors, and I remember the role of indigenous people when the discussion turns to politics, climate change, or the direction of the USA. I respect their right to be unique, and accurately represented. I remember them, with their permission, and seek to respect their story as they tell it, not as the history or other books lay down.

I REMEMBER

events that are significant to the indigenous nations, as I would hope others remember events significant to my people. Such as the anniversary of Wounded Knee massacre. I do not speak of their history as continual victimization, but as a continual, and successful struggle, which will persevere.

I DO NOT PITY

them for what they have lost, but I admire them for what they have retained, and what they create. I do not listen to statistics as much as I listen to their voices. Sovereignty rarely makes it on the statisticians list.

I UNDERSTAND

that sovereignty is not a civil right; it is a human right. It is a relationship that is not dependent upon the federal US government to administer or take away. It is a right outside the jurisdiction of the US & Canada, and I will not stand in the way of that right being exercised. An injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.

I LISTEN

to indigenous americans. I hope what I am learning will help to protect their right to live, as well as what I now know is sacred. The river in my backyard. The trees on my street. The migrating geese, and the grass on which they graze. The water, and the knowledge that it flows to the gulf, and out to the sea. And that the sea is suffering.

I LEARN

from your example, about community empowerment. That power comes from truth, and unity comes from respect. I learn that respect does not mean on my terms- it means to respect on your-the indigenous peoples- terms.

I ACKNOWLEDGE

the role history has in a community and that it cannot be disregarded. Drug abuse, suicide, and diabetes cannot be looked at without an accurate, historical, and respectful context. Therefore, I learn a lot about public service and health care. I also learn a lot about myself, and my people, and the things I can do in my own community.

THANK YOU. Wado. Migweetch. Pilamaye. Hiy hiy.

(etc)

Idle No More. All my relations.
~From an ally
Bald_Eagle001a
Photo by Jeff McIntosh.

About Guest Author

This contribution was made by a guest. If you would like to contribute something, please contact Kolonialq@gmail.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

sos art cincinnati

Art Vehicle for Peace and Justice and for a Change

Saying Sooth

Of Stories and Riddles

Tribal Voice

Ever wondered what life's like in a remote tribal community? What tribal people have to say about the world? Tribal Voice, a project by Survival International, brings the thoughts and experiences of some of the most diverse societies on earth direct to your screen in real time. We're kicking off the project with tribes in Brazil. The Guarani, whose land has been stolen and destroyed by plantations and ranches, are now sending regular updates about their lives, and their struggle to survive. It's time to listen.

Chiapas Support Committee

Home of the Compañero Manuel blog on zapatistas & mexico

Moontime Warrior

Fearless Philosophizing, Embodied Resistance (by Erica Violet Lee)

HeartSphere

Conversations with the Heartmind

RED POWER MEDIA

Indigenous Issues and Resistance

Grassroots Communications

Birthing babies, social movements, and new world paradigms!

People History

Interesting, thoughtful, stuff

World4Justice : NOW! Lobby Forum.

Family Law and Child Welfare Reform.

Malinalli Media

A Native-led Media Organization

The Espresso Stalinist

Wake Up to the Smell of Class Struggle ☭

EcoPeace Middle East

EcoPeace Middle East is a unique organization that brings together Jordanian, Palestinian, and Israeli environmentalists. Our primary objective is the promotion of cooperative efforts to protect our shared environmental heritage

Sacred Fire: The People United Against Fracking

#Elsipogtog and Kent County, New Brunswick - SacredFireNB@gmail.com

Water is Life Water Walk

"Water, we are sorry to make you suffer. Please forgive us. We thank you, and we love you."

Earth First! Newswire

Media from the Frontlines of Ecological Resistance.

Unsettling America

Decolonization in Theory & Practice

